This post is for Jo Redmond, who said lovely things about me for all to see!

 

UNTITLED

I wish I was torn paper twirled by careless gusts in a roadside gutter at midnight

I would live and die there by the light of passing cars

Make me the shards of glass swept up outside pubs on Saturday mornings

or the hubcaps jettisoned on sharp corners that lie cracked and unseen in the weeds and long grass

I would not care then how long my moment lasted

nor ask for something better

nor expect to make a difference

nor crave someone’s fond memory

I would be a monument that time would erase

That would be enough

and so much truer a life than this

with its unrelenting march of thoughts and revised beliefs and pains and dissatisfactions and complexities

I wish I could have been a simple switch

flicked on an explosive device

and in my crater, one day, grass would grow or water collect when it rained

animals would drink there

without my taint on the surroundings

2 thoughts on “This post is for Jo Redmond, who said lovely things about me for all to see!

  1. …. ‘Flicked on an explosive device…’ Moments such as this are almost too much to bear. Thank you, Joseph. Thank you. THANK YOU. x

Leave a Reply

