Blood Fugue, the untold story.

Blood FugueBlood Fugue came out in November 2012 – my first novel since Garbage Man in 2009.

It was a relief to finally get back on the shelves after some rough air on the publishing front.

Some facts about the book:

  • It was the 3rd novel I ever wrote, back in 2003.
  • It was my 1st Horror novel.
  • I wrote it having asked my wife to randomly choose a word from a list of thirty human ‘activities’ and a list of thirty themes. The words were Ritual & Outdoorsmanship.
  • I edited it many times over ten years, including altering the POV from 1st to 3rd person.
  • It was rejected by most literary agencies and publishers in the UK, as well as some in the USA.
  • The original text was 108K.
  • The final text was 76K.
  • Steve Haynes of Proxima approached me for the novel, making it the first time I didn’t have to submit a piece of work in the usual way.
  • Steve was responsible for 24K of the 32K that were cut during the edit.
  • It was the first time I’d ever asked another author to read a novel and give me a quote – the author was UK Horror’s brightest star, Adam Nevill.
  • I dedicated the book to my step-dad, who encouraged my love of reading and books from a very early age.

Probably the best thing for me about Blood Fugue was how well it was received after I’d been absent from bookshelves for quite a spell. This is what people had to say:

“From the riveting, sexually charged opening chapter of Blood Fugue, the reader knows they’re in good, if a little twisted, hands. D’Lacey’s tale blasted through 265 blood-soaked pages in a fevered frenzy. Haven’t had this much fun with a dark tale since Wilson’s The Keep. It’s vampires pumped up on steroids and raunchy as hell, making Stoker’s Dracula blush and Meyer’s Twilight seem even more like sparkly, emo wimps.” Don Roff, author of Zombies: A Record of the Year of Infection

“Folklore and mythology, as well as man’s catastrophic disregard for nature, are the meat of Joseph D’Lacey’s horror. But the prime cuts are always compassion and surprise.” Adam Nevill, author of Apartment 16, The Ritual and Last Days

“Blood Fugue is the third novel from a top British horror author. Blending well-written prose with fantastic imagery, this novel packs plenty of punches. Ideal for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. Watch out! The ‘Fugue’ is about!” Ellie Wixon, Blackwell’s

“A wonderfully twisted and uber-violent take on the vampire myth.” Wayne Simmons, author of Flu and Drop Dead Gorgeous

“Captivating…truly a joy to read.” Horror Reviewsite

“Blood Fugue is a near perfect mix of vampires, body horror and ecological thriller.  if you only read one vampire novel this year, make sure it is this one.” Gingernuts of Horror.

“Blowjobs, threesomes and girl on girl…owes more to Fifty Shades of Grey than to Dracula.” Annexe Magazine

“D’Lacey captures the minutiae of small town America with a skill that is reminiscent of early Stephen King. If you’re a horror fan and you’re not already reading Joseph D’Lacey you had better have a bloody good excuse.” The Eloquent Page

“A magic carpet ride back to the early days of horror.” Clare’s Crypt

“D’Lacey forms a world that is some part the beautiful mystery of early Koontz, the small town whimsy of King and the dangerously blurry line between sex and violence that encapsulates Laymon.” Snakebite Horror

“If you love horror that doesn’t hold anything back with great, three-dimensional characters, unique plots and some scary-arse monsters, pick up a book by Joseph D’Lacey – his stories are inventive, terrifying and oh-so-good – horror at its very best.” The Aussie Zombie

“D’Lacey’s writing is definitely sexy, terrifying and very, very visceral…This book is just glorious.” Adventures in Trash

“A trip through the forest from hell…Unforgettable.” Dark Arts Magazine

“D’Lacey’s storytelling ability is strong and compelling…brutal deaths, incredibly sinister characters and scenes of a graphic sexual nature.” Andy Erupts

 

(You can read the full story of the horrific Blood Fugue edit on Wayne Simmons’ Write Club.)

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Blood Fugue, the untold story.

    • Cheers, Wayne – so glad you enjoyed it.

      A second helping of Fugue, though, eh? Urban style?

      *makes a note if all this*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s