The Function Room: A review and interview with author Matt Leyshon

the function room I recently finished The Function Room by Matt Leyshon. I don’t often review books but this one deserves a lot more attention. I was so intrigued by it, I decided to give its author a good grilling, too. Results below…

Take an average English town where bad things happen and dark notions throng the mind. Populate it with vile, self-serving individuals, among whom even the charitable think only of themselves. Give it an intelligent but unhinged power source – like a sentient CCTV control centre with the ability to influence every occurrence. You will then have an urban backdrop that approaches Matt Leyshon’s Leddenton and an idea of The Function Room that operates it. I say approaches because I think it’s unlikely that, without Leyshon’s shadowy influence, you’d be able to conceive of anything quite as grim or fiendish.

The stories in the Function Room are by turns unexpected, nauseating, thought-provoking and quirkily inspired. I’d almost go so far as to say there’s a kind of humour at work in the tales, except that at no point did I laugh. Nor did I grin or smirk. These stories force you along a narrowing tunnel of unpleasantness, only to trap you in some forgotten loop of Hadean bowel with no exit. If horror is about unsettling your reader, about eating away at the foundations of what they hold close and dear, then Leyshon’s work is good horror. Excellent horror, in fact, and Morpheus Tales made a smart decision in publishing his debut collection.

There is a visceral logic to the machinations of The Function Room and its baleful influence reaches into every page of this book. Rather than speculate on this or why Matt Leyshon does what he does in the way that he does it, I think it might be better if I just asked him…

Joseph D’Lacey: Hi, Matt. I appreciate you coming along to visit my somewhat shabby and underfunded blog. I’d offer you a cup of tea but the milk’s gone sour and, anyway, the kettle broke some weeks ago. I do have an ancient wedge of seeping Gorgonzola, though. Would you like some?

Matt Leyshon: It’s a pleasure to be here Joseph.  I was forewarned about the state of your cheese so I’ve brought my own, but thanks for asking.

JD’L: There were a couple of things about the book I didn’t completely gel with – let’s get those out of the way now and then move swiftly on.

The first thing I’m curious about is your linguistic style. You ran the risk of losing me with The Rape Waved Yellow because it was so purple with description. However, your prose settles down as the collection progresses and the book contains several instances of enviable poetic genius. It made me wonder what’s more important to you, the story or the telling?

ML: The linguistic style of these stories came about naturally.  The editing is lighter than normal though, hopefully retaining a feel of each story being almost a stream of consciousness, or like a dream.  I’m aware that the book is pretty heavy in places but the way that a story is told is very important to me and in these stories my style hopefully adds to the sense of horror.  I see the story itself more as a framework upon which to hang characters, dangle a shroud of ambience, and as a place to secrete some ideas disguised as amulets and charms.  But an original plot is more conducive to original ideas than one that isn’t, so whilst I might be suggesting that the story is secondary to its telling, I still think that it is important to try and tell a tale that has not been told before.

JD’L: As an adjunct, while it’s clear that the first tale acts as an introduction to Leddenton and The Function Room itself, why did you decide put this tale first and how important was the chronology of the stories?

ML: Apart from a handful that were written especially for the collection, I didn’t foresee these stories being published alongside each other.  Although they often feature the same locations and characters, they were written as self-standing pieces.  When it came to putting the collection together doing it chronologically seemed to work best, in that other ways did not work at all.  In the end there were a few stories that could have come first, but I settled on The Rape Waved Yellow because it introduced not just the town and The Function Room, as you say, but also some of the entertaining themes that recur throughout the collection, like Gnosticism and gore.

JD’L: The penultimate paragraph of D.M. Mitchell’s introduction, Welcome To Leddenton, was so academic I found it impenetrable. I worried that The Function Room might be a book I simply wouldn’t understand – not a great feeling for a reader to get on page two. Was the book intended to appeal to a purely ‘literary’ readership?

ML: It’s funny to think that after all the time I spent trying to think of frightening ideas, Dave Mitchell has managed to scare readers off with his introduction before they even reach my stories.   But to answer your question, I always believed that these stories were horror stories and I hoped that they would appeal to a horror readership.

JD’L: Your characters’ names and the way they morph between human and superhuman abilities reminds me of Classical mythology. In fact, at times the tales are more like bleak fables than what people might think of as ‘traditional’ short stories. How aware are you of the effect you have on your reader? Do you have any inkling, while writing and editing, how readers will respond or do you simply do your thing and hope for the best?

ML: I just write in a way that I enjoy and hope that others might enjoy reading it.  In reality I never really knew how readers might respond to The Function Room and I avoided thinking about it too much for fear that it might have sanitised my writing. But it is interesting that you were sometimes reminded of Classical mythology.  I used Egyptian mythology several times for ideas and as points of reference.  Also the character Marsyas in The Rape Waved Yellow is based on the satyr of the same name in Greek mythology who gets flayed alive and has his skin nailed to a tree, rather like he does in my story.

JD’L: The stories in the Function Room form a mosaic of Leddenton and its inhabitants. In fact, I thought it came close to being a multi-protagonist novel. Have you written anything longer and is it set in Leddenton? If not, do you have any novel-length ideas or plans?

ML: I haven’t written anything longer and I have no plans to at present.  My most recent works have not been set in Leddenton as it would feel too easy somehow.  I do like to challenge myself creatively, but I’m not yet brave enough to face the challenge of writing a novel.

JD’L: Without wanting to give too much away, The Function Room of the collection’s title is situated in what some might consider hallowed ground. How intentional was that?

ML: Its situation was intentional in the sense that The Function Room is based on a real building. Externally it is a church hall in my old hometown in Dorset, but I was mainly concerned with the architecture rather than the buildings usage.  The religious associations were a happy coincidence though as the book does, on occasion, explore the possibility of a higher intelligence.  Internally I based The Function Room on the butcher’s shop beneath my old Layton flat in Blackpool where the majority of these stories were written, also by happy coincidence.

JD’L: The book still gives me the creeps now, which is a rare and wonderful thing these days. People often ask if I’m some kind of sicko, writing and enjoying horror. I usually tell them I’m healthier for getting my darkness onto the page.

Are the things that happen in Leddenton separate from you now that you’ve written about them or do you carry it all around with you? I suppose, more specifically, I want to know to what extent is this how you see the world?

ML: I’ve enjoyed the macabre since I got the Usborne Book of Witches from my primary school book club and I do find a pessimistic world view to be more fun.  However I don’t get any sense of catharsis from writing.  I think my intellect is healthier because of writing and my sense of humour is perhaps a little blacker.  As Roald Dahl once said, “In fiction, whatever is horrible, is also funny.”

JD’L: How long have you been writing for and how did you come to be published by Morpheus Tales?

ML: I’ve been seriously writing fiction for about 5 years but I’ve always had on and off involvements with literary and music magazines.  As for

Morpheus Tales: Best Weird Fiction Vol III

Morpheus Tales: Best Weird Fiction Vol III

The Function Room: The Kollection, Morpheus Tales Publishing came up with the idea for it after accepting a series of my stories for their quarterly magazine.

JD’L: What advice or encouragement do you have for up and coming writers?

ML: My advice would be to read lots and to read widely outside of the genre.  I recently finished Wolf Solent by John Cowper Powys and have just started The Quarry by Iain Banks, but in between these I read the horror journal Shadows and Tall Trees with brilliant stories by Gary Fry, Claire Massey, and D. P. Watt.

JD’L: When’s the next Matt Leyshon publication due and where can we buy it?

ML: If you can read Japanese, I’ve a story called Sadistic Little Girls that is being published in Night Lands 07 due out in Japan this autumn.  I’ve another story coming out later in the year in a long-standing anthology series that I’m not yet allowed to announce. There is a special edition of Morpheus Tales being published next year that I’m working on and also Paraphilia Magazine publishes new work from me every few months which you can read for free here: http://www.paraphiliamagazine.com/periodical/category/writing/

JD’L: It’s been a privilege to get a chance to read your work and have a chat with you, Matt. Thank you very much for your time and best of luck with all your future projects.

ML: Thanks for having me Joseph, it’s been a pleasure.

7 thoughts on “The Function Room: A review and interview with author Matt Leyshon

  1. That interview kills. I am selective who I do interviews with because one interview was a prank to bully the hell out of me out of the business. As a pen name I am writing a story to submit to Morpheus Tales and I submitted to Nightmare Magazine under my own name.

    • Hello, Nickolaus.

      Thanks for stopping by – I hope the interview ‘kills’ in a good way!

      I’ve been fortunate never to have suffered a deliberately unpleasant interview. Before I put this together, I told Matt and Adam I’d be asking some searching questions and they were happy to go ahead. I hoped it would make for interesting reading and that it would win Matt some new readers – it’s an outstanding debut collection that deserves a wider audience.

      In the meantime, I hope you have success – no matter what name you’re using!

      • Thank you Joe — it is hard enough being a born again Christian writing extreme horror, I get a lot of flack from the camp that uses graphic sex in their work. They wanted blood when they realized I was the writer who told off Poppy Z. Brite just as I was first getting published. I am trying to expand my resume as a writer and as an editor — it was three years ago when I got to publish the dream story from one of my science fiction influences. I still couldn’t believe I got to publish Ray Faraday Nelson. I got flack because I don’t allow sex in the stories of Tabloid Purposes or The Ethereal Gazette because of those publications I got published with Naked Snake Press in 2006 and with Tales of the Talisman. You are welcome to check out my work on AuthorsDen.com. The interview I did with Lawrence Dagstine in 2007 I actually got death threats from other publishers.

      • Quite the resume, sir! Ideally, avoiding death a little longer might be nice…

        Being outspoken appears to have its consequences but you seem reconciled to it. Good luck with whatever comes next!

      • I started being published on Clive Barker’s website when I was 24 years old with a short story I wrote when I was 20. I outlasted a lot of publishers out there and the ones out there like to edit my comments to pass me off as a flaming fruit loop who writes Will and Grace fan fiction and same sex romance — as a born again Christian I find that shit puke inducing. When I write a character like that they don’t live long.

      • We really must write from the heart those things that move us. While it would be pleasant to be appreciated fur such, it isn’t worth investing too much in what others think of it. You’re still here, still writing. That’s a win.

      • I outlasted publishers who are known bullies in the business. Scott Colbert who wrote Barbed Wire Kisses one stars my books without reading them and calls me a “:Log Cabin Republican” then edits my comments to pass me off as a male cocksucker. Bandersnatch Books — I clashed with all three members of staff. They want to kill me for writing as Lloyd Phillip Campbell and publishing an ex-gay in the magazine. The ex-gay is a long time friend from middle school who blindsided me with what he related. I am the small press publisher with a serious publishing credit — Withersin Magazine got me on a newstand as a nonfiction writer. Magazines will test me out as nonfiction writer first then ask me to send them my fiction. I got a younger readership by posting my work on FictionPress.com — one of my stars came from that website. Author Casey Gordon who is the lead writer of Tabloid Purposes IV.. I started writing with Evangelical Christian characters back in 2010 but writing extreme horror with it. I am planning to find an old school illustrator so I can publish novellas to smashwords.com

Leave a Reply

