If you love it, let it go…

At the end of the day, all I really want is for people to read what I write and be entertained. It’s a simple wish; something heartfelt.

Would I like to be paid for that? Of course.

The reality is, however, that in fifteen years of pursuing that simple, heartfelt wish, only one year of writing fiction brought me a living wage. If I’d given up my day job, I’d have starved years ago!

I have no agent. I have no publisher. What I do have, though, is what I’ve always had: a story to tell. Something that will transport you to another world, just as I was transported in the writing of it.

And, seeing as I have nothing tangible to look forward to in publishing at the moment, I have nothing to lose by giving something away – the one thing of value that I posses; my work.

So, if you’re interested in seeing my latest novel, released chapter by chapter right here on the blog or if you want to know more about the story, let me know.

 

6 thoughts on “If you love it, let it go…

  1. Yes I do want to read your latest novel and I would pay chapter by chapter. Set up a PayPal account on your site and let people pay to read. Am sure others would agree?…

    • Thank you, Rebekah – I will bear this in mind.

      Someone said this morning that they’re ‘going to read it one way or another but would prefer a paper copy’.

      I feel the same way and I really don’t want to do it like this. But all the gatekeeper’s doors are closed at the moment. I think the thing to do might be wait for a another week or two and see if any other opportunities come up.

      Thanks again for your comments.

  2. I found your work years ago when I first read ‘Meat’ and I genuinely still regard it as one of the best horror novels I’ve read.

    It seems a shame that you’re considering giving your latest book away for free, but understand the need to simply have it out there. Still, I think individuals would want to pay for it surely?

    I’m sure you’ve thought about this already, but could you perhaps self publish digitally? You have a catalogue of work that would draw readers to it. Even if it was a downloadable PDF. with a payment page through this blog?

    May we ask what is it about?

    • Hello, Grant!

      It’s good to hear from you about this – and, of course, about MEAT! Thanks for your suggestions about digital publishing and downloads; they’re in the mix now.

      I agree with you; it is a shame and there may still be ways around it. A lot of people have been in touch today with help and suggestions – even an interested publisher. So you never know, it may not come to a blog-based serialisation or a self-published eBook just yet.

      To answer your question about the content:

      It’s unlike any of my other work – published or unpublished – to date. A fantasy, set in a post-diluvian Far East where an young boy’s family is slain by masked cavalrymen, setting the rest of his life on a course for revenge. The chapters are short, the language is Zen and it’s a fast-paced read.

      Better not say any more for now but thank you again for your help and comments. More news when I have it…

  3. Pingback: And maybe it will come back to you… | Joseph D'Lacey

  4. Pingback: Joseph D'Lacey on Philip Pullman's 'Endangered Authors' Open Letter - For Reading Addicts

Leave a Reply

