Giveaway results

winner-winner-chicken-dinnerWell, the Goodreads giveaways that spanned most of January and February are over.

Following half a day of printing and signing letters, personalising title pages and stuffing envelopes, all the prizes are now in the post.

*pats self on back*

I gave away:

10 copies of MEAT (signed, out-of-print, first edition)

10 copies of Garbage Man (signed, out-of-print, first edition)

7 copies of Black Feathers (signed first edition)

5 copies of Blood Fugue (signed, rare, first edition)

5 copies of Clown Wars: Blood & Aspic (signed first edition)

5 copies of Splinters (signed, limited edition)

There were 1880 entrants across the six competitions; a different story from giveaways I’ve listed before. In the past it hasn’t been unusual to see a similar number of entries for just one title – I assume this is because there are so many more authors on Goodreads these days and huge numbers of giveaways listed every day.

Or it could be that no one likes my books any more. 🙂

The relatively low number of entrants meant the odds were very favourable – slightly better than winning £25 on the lottery, for example.

But, taking the giveaways individually and entering all six of them made the odds far better than that. To prove it, there were two double-winners, one from Lancashire and one from Yorkshire. Other counties that seemed to have a lot of luck (or a high level of interest in free book competitions!) were Kent and Tyne & Wear.

Whatever the case, if you entered, thank you for taking the trouble. If you won a JD’L title, well done – enjoy. If you won two, I hope it was worth selling your soul for. Wait, what am I saying, of COURSE it was worth it – my books are worth at least ten souls each!

Finally, when you’ve read one of my titles, I hope you’ll review it on Goodreads, your blog or A*azon. We now live in a world where star ratings can make or break authors. If you want me to feed myself and my family and have enough energy left to write more books, I urge you to go and scream your enjoyment from the electronic rooftops.

And I thank you in advance.

More news soon, lovelies…

Leave a Reply

