Giveaway results

winner-winner-chicken-dinnerWell, the Goodreads giveaways that spanned most of January and February are over.

Following half a day of printing and signing letters, personalising title pages and stuffing envelopes, all the prizes are now in the post.

*pats self on back*

I gave away: Continue reading

Advertisements

Give-away January!

I’m delighted to announce that all my proposed Goodreads give-aways have been approved.

This means that from the 11th to 24th of January I will be giving away six different titles, totalling 42 books! So entering means there’s a very good chance of winning something. Continue reading

New Year Giveaways

It’s 2017. Extraordinary. Astounding.

Or perhaps nothing more significant than flipping a page on a calendar…

Whatever the case, I’m celebrating by giving away a load of books on Goodreads this month. These are some of the titles I’m hoping to share:

MEATBlack FeathersGarbage ManSplintersclown-wars-toxicBlood Fugue

 

 

 

 

 

So, watch for updates and get ready to pounce – some of these will be signed, out-of-print copies. Meanwhile, wishing you every joy and fulfilment for what is bound to be a year to remember.

Blood Fugue, special Christmas offer!

Blood Fugue

I had a word with the lovely people at SALT/PROXIMA today and persuaded them to knock 60% off the kindle price of Blood Fugue. Yes, SIXTY percent – they must be mad to have agreed!

If you’re after Vampires like you’ve never seen them before, this is our Christmas treat to you.

And if you’re still not sure about it, here are some endorsements from around the world…

“Folklore and mythology, as well as man’s catastrophic disregard for nature, are the meat of Joseph D’Lacey’s horror. But the prime cuts are always compassion and surprise.” (Adam Nevill, author of Apartment 16, The Ritual and Last Days)

“A magic carpet ride back to the early days of horror.” (Clare’s Crypt)

“If you enjoy eroticism in the woods, being terrified in an arboretum, and want a horror story, beautifully written yet will shake you to the core, then read Blood Fugue by Joseph D’Lacey.” (Geoff Nelder Café Doom)

“It would be best if you dismissed any expectations of a traditional vampire story before you begin to read Blood Fugue. It’s not; it’s similar, but D’Lacey creates his own creatures as naturally as if they’ve existed for centuries in the wilderness. They’re wonderfully deceitful beings that lurk inside their victims without them even knowing that they’ve become possessed, urging echoes of The Thing throughout. D’Lacey’s victims/creatures were my favourite part of the story, provoking the interesting dilemma of an affliction that sufferers don’t remember the evil they complete; a vampiric amnesia if you will.” (Nathan Robinson Snakebite Horror)

“Horror can be the trickiest of genres to gauge correctly. I think it’s the mark of a good author that they know when to go for the out-and-out shock and when to leave the reader to fill in the blanks themselves. Blood Fugue is at times graphic, and occasionally extreme, but D’Lacey knows exactly what scenes require that shock value and which can be left to the reader’s imagination. If you’re a horror fan and you’re not already reading Joseph D’Lacey you had better have a bloody good excuse. In fact I demand you remedy this outrageous oversight immediately.” (The Eloquent Page)

“Blood Fugue is definitely not for the faint hearted. Although it appears the idea came from vapiric lore, this is vampires on crack – they’re big, bad, and very very ugly. I’ve always loved a good horror novel – the gorier and more shocking the better – and Blood Fugue delivered on every single level. This is not a novel for the faint hearted or easily squeamish, but it’s certainly one for readers who love to scare the absolute crap out of themselves.” (The Aussie Zombie)

“Blood Fugue is a near perfect mix of vampires, body horror and ecological thriller. if you only read one vampire novel this year, make sure it is this one.” (Ginger Nuts of Horror)

“Blood Fugue is a horror read that is most definitely out of the ordinary and deserves to make it on to your reading list immediately. There’s no need to simply take my word for it though… Master of Horror Stephen King succinctly said ‘Joseph D’Lacey rocks!’” (Andyerupts.com)

“This book is just glorious. I read it over Hallowe’en week, and I was absolutely hooked from the first page. It’s a fantastic read for this time of year, when everything gets colder and darker, and the idea of monsters starts to feel a whole lot more likely. The cover endorsement, from Stephen King (Stephen King!!! As an author, how unbelievably excellent must that feel?) reads simply, ‘Joseph D’Lacey rocks’. And, based on the evidence of Blood Fugue, he certainly does.” (Cassandra Parkin)

“D’Lacey forms a world that is some part the beautiful mystery of early Koontz, the small town whimsy of King and the dangerously blurry line between sex and violence that encapsulates Laymon.” (Snakebite Horror)

“A wonderfully twisted and uber-violent take on the vampire myth.” (Wayne Simmons)

“Captivating … truly a joy to read.” (Horror Reviewsite)

“Blowjobs, threesomes and girl on girl…owes more to Fifty Shades of Grey than to Dracula.” (Annexe Magazine)

“D’Lacey’s writing is definitely sexy, terrifying and very, very visceral…This book is just glorious.” (Adventures in Trash)

“A trip through the forest from hell … Unforgettable.” (Dark Arts Magazine)

“What makes the Fugue so compelling, however, is not what it pushes the infected to do, but that it causes them to forget they have done anything at all. The only trouble is that Kerrigan, who is responsible for taking care of any unruly outbreaks of Fugue, is also oblivious of anything amiss, at least until it’s too late in most cases. Between discovering his own origins – in some very heartwarming scenes with his adopters, Kath and Burt – and battling the increasingly formidable virus affecting the residents of Hobson’s Valley, Kerrigan is soon out of his depth. … Whether there’s a sequel to Blood Fugue or not, it will be interesting to see if Joseph D’Lacey can maintain this degree of excellence.” (Adam Millard This is Horror)

“The story itself is captivating. D’Lacey gives the main character, James Kerrigan, a secret that even he isn’t quite aware of. D’Lacey does a great job dropping hints, but not quite revealing this secret until the right time. He definitely knows how to grab a reader’s attention and keep hold of it until the very end.” (Joseph Mulak Horror Reviews)

Blood Fugue, the untold story.

Blood FugueBlood Fugue came out in November 2012 – my first novel since Garbage Man in 2009.

It was a relief to finally get back on the shelves after some rough air on the publishing front.

Some facts about the book:

  • It was the 3rd novel I ever wrote, back in 2003.
  • It was my 1st Horror novel.
  • I wrote it having asked my wife to randomly choose a word from a list of thirty human ‘activities’ and a list of thirty themes. The words were Ritual & Outdoorsmanship.
  • I edited it many times over ten years, including altering the POV from 1st to 3rd person.
  • It was rejected by most literary agencies and publishers in the UK, as well as some in the USA.
  • The original text was 108K.
  • The final text was 76K.
  • Steve Haynes of Proxima approached me for the novel, making it the first time I didn’t have to submit a piece of work in the usual way.
  • Steve was responsible for 24K of the 32K that were cut during the edit.
  • It was the first time I’d ever asked another author to read a novel and give me a quote – the author was UK Horror’s brightest star, Adam Nevill.
  • I dedicated the book to my step-dad, who encouraged my love of reading and books from a very early age.

Probably the best thing for me about Blood Fugue was how well it was received after I’d been absent from bookshelves for quite a spell. This is what people had to say:

“From the riveting, sexually charged opening chapter of Blood Fugue, the reader knows they’re in good, if a little twisted, hands. D’Lacey’s tale blasted through 265 blood-soaked pages in a fevered frenzy. Haven’t had this much fun with a dark tale since Wilson’s The Keep. It’s vampires pumped up on steroids and raunchy as hell, making Stoker’s Dracula blush and Meyer’s Twilight seem even more like sparkly, emo wimps.” Don Roff, author of Zombies: A Record of the Year of Infection

“Folklore and mythology, as well as man’s catastrophic disregard for nature, are the meat of Joseph D’Lacey’s horror. But the prime cuts are always compassion and surprise.” Adam Nevill, author of Apartment 16, The Ritual and Last Days

“Blood Fugue is the third novel from a top British horror author. Blending well-written prose with fantastic imagery, this novel packs plenty of punches. Ideal for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. Watch out! The ‘Fugue’ is about!” Ellie Wixon, Blackwell’s

“A wonderfully twisted and uber-violent take on the vampire myth.” Wayne Simmons, author of Flu and Drop Dead Gorgeous

“Captivating…truly a joy to read.” Horror Reviewsite

“Blood Fugue is a near perfect mix of vampires, body horror and ecological thriller.  if you only read one vampire novel this year, make sure it is this one.” Gingernuts of Horror.

“Blowjobs, threesomes and girl on girl…owes more to Fifty Shades of Grey than to Dracula.” Annexe Magazine

“D’Lacey captures the minutiae of small town America with a skill that is reminiscent of early Stephen King. If you’re a horror fan and you’re not already reading Joseph D’Lacey you had better have a bloody good excuse.” The Eloquent Page

“A magic carpet ride back to the early days of horror.” Clare’s Crypt

“D’Lacey forms a world that is some part the beautiful mystery of early Koontz, the small town whimsy of King and the dangerously blurry line between sex and violence that encapsulates Laymon.” Snakebite Horror

“If you love horror that doesn’t hold anything back with great, three-dimensional characters, unique plots and some scary-arse monsters, pick up a book by Joseph D’Lacey – his stories are inventive, terrifying and oh-so-good – horror at its very best.” The Aussie Zombie

“D’Lacey’s writing is definitely sexy, terrifying and very, very visceral…This book is just glorious.” Adventures in Trash

“A trip through the forest from hell…Unforgettable.” Dark Arts Magazine

“D’Lacey’s storytelling ability is strong and compelling…brutal deaths, incredibly sinister characters and scenes of a graphic sexual nature.” Andy Erupts

 

(You can read the full story of the horrific Blood Fugue edit on Wayne Simmons’ Write Club.)

Editing advice for The Write Club

I’m doing a two-part editing post for Wayne Simmons – author of Flu, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Fever and Doll Parts. It’s intended for writers who are keen to improve their abilities quickly. Part I outlines some specific editing passes that will tighten up your fiction.

Part II takes the extensive re-write of Blood Fugue and deconstructs it, showing how every editing pass can improve your work – with the goal of pushing it from unpublishable territory into that promised land of the published.

Other good things:

I’m grateful today for the latest two reviews of Black Feathers, the first from Tiara W whose extremely positive Goodreads appraisal is also on Digital Tempest and Bibliosanctum. Thanks also to Australian author, Alan Baxter, whose review appeared on Thirteen O’Clock very early this morning. Another considered summing up and a sign, I hope, that people everywhere are ‘getting’ what Black Feathers is all about.

Meanwhile, I’m still tinkering with the look of the blog so expect things to disappear and reappear over the next few days, as well as new content arriving as if by magic…