Healing the heart with Hawthorn

A few days ago my mum, who’s almost 90 and lives alone, had a funny turn. Piecing the day’s events together, we think she forgot to have lunch and the resulting low blood sugar caused her some disorientation. As a result, we also discovered she has an irregular heartbeat.

Mum doesn’t like doctors. If they told her to take heart pills of any kind, I’m pretty sure she’d bin them. Fortunately, however, she is a fan of natural remedies.

So, I had a look in my go to herbal medicine book, Hedgerow Medicine by Julie Bruton-Seal and Matthew Seal. I’ve probably mentioned it in earlier posts because it’s an invaluable resource for anyone who wants to make their own safe, natural remedies at home.

It’s a funny thing that Hawthorn is the plant they recommend for heart problems because I’ve been fascinated by the Hawthorns ever since they started fruiting. This year, the berries have been incredibly prolific around here. Something about the ecstatic red of those berries mesmerises me whenever I’m walking past. I’d wondered to myself on several occasions if there was anything useful or tasty I could make from them but never actually got around to researching it until this happened with mum.

It was, rather suddenly, time to make Hawthorn Berry Tincture and Hawthorn Berry Syrup to heal mum’s heart. The syrups is good to go and the tincture will be ready by the end of the month.

You can find out how to do this – and many other useful, health-restoring things – in the above book.

Leave a comment